In Japan, tea drinking is an art form. In Japanese, the phrase “tea ceremony” sounds like sado (chado), which literally means “tea way”.
The whole ceremony is also called chanoyu. It consists of a chain of rituals that show the full depth of this action. Sado truly represents the pinnacle of Japanese culture, containing such types of art as:
Ceramics; Architecture; Painting; Floristics; Calligraphy.
The tea ceremony consists not only of the rituals of tea drinking, but also of the rules of guest behavior and hospitality. It is relevant especially among girls, because they are thus preparing for family life. More than a dozen years may be required to learn how to brew tea properly.
Paranoia and its essence.
It is believed that chanoyu was created by Seng Rikyu (who lived from 1522 to 1591). He brought the sado philosophy to life. Seng Rikyu was named the master of tea by two famous shoguns: Nobunaga and Hideyoshi.
The teachings of this great man consist of four basic principles: purity (sei), harmony (wa), respect (nei), calm (yaku). According to legend, Seng Rikyu created the seven rules of the tea ceremony, which are as follows:
When combining colors, you need to take an example from nature; Kindling coal is only necessary to bring the water to a low boil; Tea is served in an appropriate amount; You need to make sure that in the summer the tea house is filled with coolness, and in the winter – with warmth; The ceremony should be held only at the right time; Rain can start even in excellent weather; Receiving guests, you should show respect.
Over time, all these principles and rules have become popular not only in Japan. To date, sado schools have been established, namely Musyanokoji-senke, Ura-senke, and Omote-senke.
Thus, the essence of chanoyu is that each person should take care of the other, since all people in society are closely related to each other.
What is cha-kaiseki and chyaji?
The cuisine of Chinese vegetarians (shojin ryori) has spread to Japan. The difference between such food was also that it was served in small quantities. In Japan, this food is called Cha-kaiseki. Kaiseki means “stone in the embrace”, as the monks warmed themselves with heated stones in order to endure cold or hunger. The Cha-kaiseki consisted of a bowl of soup, rice, and a couple of other dishes.
Chaji is a Japanese tea ceremony that serves cha-kaiseki. The food is brought first, as it is important not to interrupt the taste of the tea afterwards. Then there was another direction – Kaiseki Ryori. Many dishes were already served in this meal.
Modern cha-kaiseki includes soup, rice, stewed dish, appetizer, grilled dish, small portion of clear soup, salted vegetables, small dish, hot water. Sake is also always served. You can also be offered another fish dish, another stewed dish, vegetables with sauce and pickled vegetables. The products and dishes in which they are served must necessarily correspond to the season.
Currently, sushi and its various variations are a popular Japanese dish. You can order sushi and rolls at home in TOKYO-CITY restaurants. In addition, free delivery of sushi in St. Petersburg is possible.
Tea ceremonies are official types.
There are seven types of Taxi:
The most important midday taxi (11-12 PM); Tazi morning (6 hours), it is organised in summer; Tazi evening (beginning of twilight), organized in the winter; Tazi sunset (4 p.m.), organized in the mid-winter period; Taxi worries begin after the official taxi, if someone couldn’t come; Taxi after a meal can be arranged after Breakfast, brunch or lunch; Taxi free is available for guests, which was not expected.
The tea ceremony can take place in different ways, but it is mostly a solemn ceremony, which includes complex rituals.
The main rituals of the tea ceremony.
The most official chiji (midday) has its own order of conduct:
Guests enter the place where the ceremony will be held. They pass through a very small door; Before the meal begins, the guests look at the paintings, admire the interior items; Each guest takes a place at the table that corresponds to his position: the most distinguished guests sit at the head of the table; Kaiseki is brought on separate trays; The meal lasts two to three hours; A ceremony called “the first lighting of coal ” begins, while you can try to inhale aromas and incense; wagashi, rice cakes are served; Then all the guests go to the waiting room; Upon return, the ceremony of thick tea (koitya) begins; The Host prepares matte tea (it is very thick, almost like batter); The cup of tea is passed around, the tea itself should be drunk in small sips; The “second ignition of coal ” begins; The transition to kusutya – light tea is carried out; The Host again prepares tea. This time it is liquid and served separately to each guest, that is, in an individual bowl; Guests admire the view of tea cups, flowers, paintings. During the course of the ceremony, a conversation is held, but mostly the guests of honor talk with the host.
When conducting chiji during the cold season, the program is usually slightly changed. In such cases, the kaiseki is served to the table after the “first kindling of coal ” is carried out.
Another important rule when conducting the tea ceremony of chiji – all utensils, dishes, interior items must strictly correspond to the season. The kimonos that guests are going to wear to the tea ceremony should also be suitable for the time of year. The tea party itself often lasts several hours, sometimes longer.
Order sushi delivery in TOKYO-CITY restaurants to Moskovsky district, Kalininsky, Krasnogvardeysky, Vyborgsky and other districts of St. Petersburg.